Posted

print

favorite this post $800 Room in Artist Collective (No Pets) - May - looking for female (East Van) hide this posting unhide

1234

available may 1

apartment
w/d in unit
no smoking
street parking
no private bath
private room

We have a new opening in our artist collective - Habitat! We're looking for a creative & respectful woman who is a good fit for our home to move in sometime in May, 2019. We are trying to find a female-identifying person, as we care about gender balance (come May, we will have 4 men, 2 women, and hopefully you!). It is more important for us to find a good fit than anything else. Here are the relevant details:

--- Our space is huge, sunlight filled, and newly renovated. We have 3 common spaces, 2 kitchens, new appliances, 2 washers and dryers, 4 bathrooms, 6 proper bedrooms, a studio that is being rented as a bedroom, numerous skylights, and lots of plants.

--- Currently, our home is comprised of puppeteers, music producers, installation artists, curators, graphic designers, actors, painters, and social activists. All of us are feminists. Although we are all active in our creative pursuits, we communicate well and respect each others schedules. Our ages range from 24 to 32.

--- The bedroom opening up is one of the largest in our home, and has a built in walk-in closet, a thermostat controlled heating unit, and large south-facing windows. However, it faces our back-alley - which is frequented by large trucks in the morning & daytime. If you are a very light sleeper - this might not be the best fit for you.

--- Rent is $800. This covers: room, utilities, internet, toilet paper, laundry/dish detergent, cleaning supplies, and money that goes into our house fund (which we democratically decide how to spend).

--- We have regular house meetings, and everybody is expected to contribute to the cleaning and upkeep of our space. We have an ongoing gardening project, with numerous plants continually entering our home. :)

--- We are located in the downtown eastside portion of Strathcona. If poor people or homelessness make you feel uncomfortable, this is not the place for you. That said, despite some of the conceptions around the DTES, it really is quite safe here. I've lived here for almost 5 years without issue. We're 3 blocks (or less) from Chinatown, Railtown, & Gastown. We're also a block away from Sunrise, the cheapest grocery store in Van for produce.

--- There are also a plethora of bus lines that run right by our house which will take you everywhere in the city (kits, kerrisdale, UBC, downtown, burnaby, skytrain stations, & literally every major street in East Van).

--- No pets allowed. Individuals only (no couples).

If Habitat sounds like the place for you, please fill out our questionnaire here (where you can find more images of the space as well): https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSf9WR3EReKQ7zIm6NUV8qNRPKkzpMMRH1TITIBgPoGzHOMCqw/viewform Emails from craigslist are not checked. If you have any questions, ask them in the form - do not email us.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6837065845

posted:

updated:

best of [?]